Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

can you clean a pcv system?

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 08:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default can you clean a pcv system?

My car has been driven short distance and not many miles for around 4 years.
I just bought it, and when I pulled the spark plug cover I noticed some oil on top of the motor.
I havent run it to see if smoke comes from the dip stick, but it wouldnt surprize me to find that.

A local shop owner said a clogged PCV system could even cause my cold start issue (have to hold revs for a minute or 2 before it can idle on its own)
That I find hard to believe, but then Im no mechanic.

Ive read threw how to replace the system.

My question is, be there any way to clean it from the inside? Would that seafoam engine cleaner go threw the PCV system?

I know nothing could completely clean up the system from the inside and that it should be replaced, and I hope to do it....but it may be 4-6 months before I can have the $$$ and time to do so.

Thanx.

Old 02-28-2013, 11:50 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

I don't know of anything that could. The problem is that clogged parts get a carbon like build up in them. I purchased my car in May and drove it until July, about 2,500 miles before I change the severly clogged PCV system. It never blew smoke from the oil dip stick so I usually tell people to just change it unless they can prove that it's been done within 5 years.

You can try to squeeze the tube that goes over the top part of the motor near the oil cap, if it feels soft it's likely newish, if it's hard as a rock, it's likely old. I replaced a system on a '97 850 that had a softer hose going there but other parts were old and cracked so, that may be a bad test as well. LOL