Volvo XC90 This mid-sized SUV offers the driver and passengers Volvo luxury and quality with sport utility capability.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 XC90 2.5 Suspension / ride quality issues..

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2015, 11:15 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 XC90 2.5 Suspension / ride quality issues..

This is a bit long, but here goes. After a quick browse of topics, I haven't found anything that might address my issue. I'm not a mechanic but I know a tiny bit about cars, enough to understand what a knowledgeable person is saying.

I've owned my 05 xc90 for just under 2 years and live in CT. After this last horrible winter, it feels like my suspension is off, a lot.

1. It's a lot bumpier than I remember on back roads where I live. It feels just super bumpy, rather than the smoother ride that I *thought* it had had (before this last winter).
2. I get "caught" in what feels like gusty wind or drafts on the highway, even when its not windy at all.
3. When I hit decent sized bumps, like potholes or manhole covers in the street, it feels like my car (the rear mostly) is swaying toward the right.

Any suggestions as to what's up with this beast without doing a literal overhaul of the entire suspension system? I've been thinking the control arms and/or ball joints would apply to the bumps, both little bumps and swaying on potholes/manhole covers. I thought the rear shocks would have been that problem also, and the swaying/drafting, and also sway bar links. But my Mechanic says that the rear shocks look fine, no leaks or anything and not a lot of bounce when "tested". Is it bushings (Control Arms? Sway Bar?). Is it Ball joints? Is it my tires?